MVC3 render html based on roles

Hi All,

I am new to MVC3 and just learning how it works.

I currently am building a project which has several different membership roles. I understand that I can limit different controller actions to different roles, but what if I want all my roles to share a view and just render slightly different information based on your role. An example would be some sort of data entry page…If I’m an admin I can edit and see all the information, if I’m just a regular user I can only see and edit a subset of the information.

Should I build a different page for the admin and the user or am I on the right approach with using the same page and just limiting what get’s displayed by the role. How do I do this?

Thanks,
AFrieze

Hi AFrieze,

Like always there are more roads that lead to Rome. (I wasn’t even sure this would be a saying outside the Netherlands but according to Google it does… ;-)) Depending on how you set up your website you should pick your preffered solution.

When you created a website that contains an Area for the backend you should create seperate Controllers and Actions for Administrators and visitors. This way you don´t need to write logic into your View for seperating Roles in a page and logic to check user input in the backend.

When you want to set up a page like you described above you should seperate Roles in the View and in the Controller. In the View you could use code like below for seperating for example Administrators from normal users. You can see that I use Partials for the different forms that need to be submit to the server.

<% if (User.IsInRole("Role")) { %>
     <%: Html.Partial("AdminForm") %>
<% } else { %>
     <%: Html.Partial("PublicForm") %>
<% } %>

After that you need to check user input in the backend to be sure that visitors only can insert some content to the database. In your method you could say something like:

myMessage = filledInMessage.Message;
if (User.IsInRole("Role"))
{