My Company wants to host their own sites. I need advice

So I work as an IT manager/Web Developer for a company that owns about 30 radio stations. The owner came to me and wants to look at hosting our own websites in one of his buildings. Can anyone point me to some good resources to research what I would need to make my company their own data center? The owner already agreed to a dedicated T1 line or whatever is available in our area. I am not sure what specs I need and how many servers what not. Some of our current sites are pretty high traffic and they also hope to setup a hub and spokes type vpn as well. We have lots of equipment racks and stuff like that and A/C controlled spaces in the building. I am just not sure what all equipment I need to include on my wish list to make this work. So I am looking at hosting about 30 websites with room for expansion but I am not sure where to start. I have pretty extensive knowledge of Lamp and security for my testing environments, but I am not sure what kind of resources it will take to have our own data center.

scylex,

I believe that your company is overlooking a lot of aspects like:

• Redundant power
  • Redundant servers (separate locations)
  • Redundant communications lines
  • 7/24/365 monitoring
  • Extensive firewalls, i.e., keep the web servers out of the company’s internal network!
  • Extensive software (daemons to run a web server)

This will require massive expenditure on the part of the company and is NOT a reasonable thing to do. Better to get a managed hosting service to transfer the headaches to a professional TEAM. This is no reflection upon you, just that a production server requires constant monitoring (and specialized tools).

Regards,

DK