MySQL to MySQLi

Hi everyone… I am a PHP newbie. Sorry if this is such an elementary question. I am trying to rewrite/update a gallery code using mysqli instead of mysql. I tried to follow an online tutorial. I am getting several errors so how do I rewrite the following bit of code using mysqli? Can someone help me please?

$result =
mysql_query
("SELECT
c.category_name
,c.category_image
,COUNT(p.photo_caption)
FROM
gallery_category as c
LEFT JOIN
gallery_photos as p
ON
p.category_name = c.category_name
GROUP BY
c.category_name");

while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result)) {
$row[0] = trim($row[0]);
$row[0] = str_replace(" ", "-", $row[0]);
$row[0] = str_replace("'", "%27", $row[0]);

Thanks for any help…

For the most part MySQLi is pretty much the same with the exception of some functions which may have changed names completely or were removed, for what you have above simply changing mysql to mysqli should suffice.

If you still get errors, come back with the code and the error messages.

This is what I thought at first too then I got all the error :slight_smile: Thank you for helping me Chris.

For the most part MySQLi is pretty much the same with the exception of some functions which may have changed names completely or were removed, for what you have above simply changing mysql to mysqli should suffice.

Thank you very much guys… When I change MySQL to MySQLi I get ,

Warning: mysqli_query() expects at least 2 parameters, 1 given in C:\\wamp\\www\\viewgallery.php on line 52

and

Warning: mysqli_fetch_array() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli_result, null given in C:\\wamp\\www\\viewgallery.php on line 54

. Line 52 to 54 from the above code is

GROUP BY
c.category_name");
while ($row = mysqli_fetch_array($result)) {

it may be also noted that many mysqli functions require the connection object as first parameter.

By simply appending the i after mysql DOES NOT work. mysql_result has been removed completely and will not work on the new MySQLi library.

For OOP