Need An Expert Advice - Which AJAX Lib Should Be I Consider For Learning

Hi,

I need an Advise from those who are an expert in AJAX/Javascript I’m a PHP Developer and so far I was using ready to use AJAX codes/scripts but I realized I should be master in at least 1 AJAX Library or Toolkit. Please tell me what should I do, though I can’t spare a lot of time but even then whenever I have time I wish to continue learning something which you guys will advice me :-

1. jquery
  2. dojo
  3. Prototype
  4. script.aculo.us

I need to learn that one which is powerful and solve most of the problems and easy to use.

The point of a library is the reverse but I’ve seen what you’ve alluded to occur before.

OP> I got serious about learning javascript alongside prototype. I didn’t realize until much later that prototype takes advantage of the javascripts prototypical inheritance to work it’s magic, and many of it’s functions aren’t part of pure js. It took me a while to get used to what was pure js and what was prototype.

jQuery makes what belongs to itself more obvious because it doesn’t modify the object prototypes. Lack of that confusion phase may be beneficial, but it may not.

The main split between these two frameworks lies at this key disagreement. jQuery is self contained, doesn’t pollute the global namespace, and so “plays well with others” as far as running your script alongside other scripts you find online. Prototype definitely does NOT play well with other scripts unless they also require prototype.

On the other hand prototype possesses a library to emulate classical inheritance. jQuery does not and will likely never have one since it’s creator, John Resiq, is on record calling everyone who likes classical inheritance an idiot.