Need help on SQL query

Hi Guys

I’m a newbie in databases and SQL worl. I have a problem. I’ve spent 12 hours but couldn’t find the solution.

Can anyone give me a sample code, or show me the right direction please?

Here is the scenario:

I will need to find out the number of goals a player has scored in year 2009, and display various information about him such as name, shirt no etc.

The only part I couldn’t figure out is the bit where I have to add all the goals scored by a certain player, and display his name, position, total number of goals scored in 2009, and shirt no.

I will be grateful if anyone can help me on this, otherwise I’m going to go mad.

players

shirtNo
name
position

playedMatches

matchID
date

playerPerformance

goals
minutes
booked
matchID
shirtNo

sorry, we won’t do your homework for you

show us what you’ve tried and what kind of problems you’re having

Hi “r37”

Sorry for not including the code in the first place.

This is what i’ve done so far:

SELECT players.name, teams.teamName, performance.shirtNo, players.position, performance.goals FROM players, performance, teams WHERE goals = (SELECT MAX(goals) FROM performance) AND players.teamID = teams.teamID AND players.teamID = performance.teamID;

E.g:Which results in:

name - teamName - shirtNo - position - goals
Henry - Barcelona - 9 - FW - 9

This information is based on the maximum goal in the performance table. But I need to add all the goals scored by each player individualy and display the above information based on the highest goal (E.g. total goals scored by the player with the teamID=2).

I’ve used “COUNT(),” “SUM() GROUP BY teamID” statement, I can count the number of goals scored by each player, but I can’t combine the two code. (E.g Count the goals for each player, display the above infromation based on the highest goal) I’ve looked into JOIN, subqueries and I just couldn’t figure it out.

Hope this helps.

sorry, i don’t understand what this means