Need help translating these basic php ideas into working code

Hello, I recently posted a question on stackoverflow. Because sitepoint seems more specific, I thought I would post my next problem here.

Here is my stackoverflow post : http://stackoverflow.com/q/8582537/901834

You can read my proposition there.

You can see that someone posted an answer, and it looks great, but I have little php experience. I don’t have enough experience to translate his ideas into actual working code. I’m not asking for a fully developed working application, I just need a head start.

Here is his answer :

You’ll want a database. Start with a “teams” table, put in your 16 entries. Then, via PHP:

SELECT * 
FROM teams
ORDER BY RAND()
LIMIT 2

Now you’ll have to present the two teams to the user, and using an html form subiit or maybe some AJAX allow them to choose the winner. Now, make another table, say round_one_winners, and insert the user’s selection.

INSERT INTO round_one_winners
  (name)
VALUES
  ('team one')

Repeat x8. Then:

SELECT * 
FROM `round_one_winners`
ORDER BY RAND()
LIMIT 2

Repeat x4, using a round_two_winners table!

Specifically, I don’t know what he is talking about. I am not sure how to translate this into working code.
Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Specifically, I don’t know what he is talking about. I am not sure how to translate this into working code.

You write a bit of PHP code that issues the SELECT query to choose the two teams (of which he gave you an example), and present them in a form for the user to pick one. You have another bit of code to receive the submission of that form and issue the INSERT query to save their answer (of which he gave you an example). You repeat this until the first bracket is complete, then move to the second bracket, then to the third, until the tournament is over. That’s some logic you have to put into code.