Need help with a query and subsequent output

I’m new to mysql and php and need some help if possible!

I have a table that looks like the following –

ID - ITEM – COND
1 – Hat – 1
2 – Shirt – 5
3 – Pants – 10
4 – Hat – 4
5 – Hat – 9
6 – Hat – 6
7 - Shirt – 5

I want to be able to pull from the table a list of UNIQUE items, how many of each unique item there are, and their average condition…
Thus the output should be:

ITEM – QTY – AVG COND
Hat – 4 - 5
Pants – 1 - 10
Shirt – 2 – 7.5

Any help would be appreciated!

MySQL Manual: GROUP BY (Aggregate) Functions

SELECT
  item,
  COUNT(*) AS `qty`,
  AVG(cond) AS `avgcond`
FROM
  table
GROUP BY
  item

A corrected version of Dan’s query.

SELECT
      item
    , COUNT(item) AS qty
    , (SELECT AVG(cond) FROM items) AS avgcond
FROM
    items
GROUP BY
    item

@Dan, your query does not work as with the table structure provided by the OP, there is no field called qty. It has nothing to SUM up.

Oops, I was reading the wrong part of the post when typing that. Replaced SUM with COUNT!

dan,

that works like a charm! the avg cond is a crazy decimal, I’ll have to read on keeping it to 2 decimal places.

dan,

that works like a charm! At least it does in the dbquery… but when i try to output to the web, i get nothing… I’m doing something wrong here…

$result = mysql_query(“SELECT item, COUNT(*) AS qty, AVG(cond) AS avgcondFROM items GROUP BY item”);

echo “<table border=0><tr>”;

while($row = mysql_fetch_array($result))
{
echo"<td>$item</td><td>$qty</td><td>$avgcond</td>";
}
echo “</tr></table>”;

got it working!

i have another table that has two columns…

item & mqty

mqty is max quantity i can hold in the inventory for the item.

i’m trying to figure out how to add a “% of max inv” column to my output above. Somehow i need to cross reference the QTY in one table with the MQTY in the other, calculate the % and display

any ideas?

You need to JOIN the two tables.

The round() function in php is what you need for that.