Need Reliable WordPress Hosting... Bluehost? HostGator?

I have been using eleven2.com for a few years now, and they are just far too unreliable for me. I am ready to move my 15 or so wordpress sites to a new host. Who do you recommend?

Also what type of hosting would be wise? I am a web designer first, and “hosting provider” maybe third… ie: I don’t have a ton of knowledge on the best way to do this. Shared server? VPS? I have three websites that have SSL, a couple e-commerce sites, and a bunch of basic wordpress sites.

Thanks ahead of time!

That depends on a few factors:

1. Where do you want servers to be located
  2. What’s your monthly budget?
  3. What do you need in terms of disk space, data transfer and hosting features?

Unless any of your sites have extremely high traffic or are server resource hungry then a decent Reseller account if you want a few bells and whistles.

1. In the United States
  2. On average I am charging my clients $150 a year for hosting. So would like to still make a dollar or two after hosting fees.
  3. Most of my sites are WordPress… I only host email for about 3 companies, and they each use about 1-2gb total of disk space. Other than those three disc space is not a huge deal.

Do you have any suggestions for companies?

BlueHost/HostGator has a reputation for being unreliable (they are both now owned by the same company and so are basically the same.

I was with BlueHost for about four 1/2 years and then switched to Hostgator just prior to HostGator being purchased by the current owners, who then went on to purchase BlueHost a year or so later.