Need Some Advice On Hci Project For University

Hi PEOPLE

My name is david and i am currently studying internet software devolopment at glasgow university in scotland. My final year project is to create"guidlines for deisgn of web interfaces for the elderly". i was wondering if you could take a couple of minutes of your time and please give me some advice.the current lectures at the univeristy are not that experienced in this field.

Goals of project: The goals of the project are to:
· Research literature on characteristics of user group
· Investigate any guidelines methods and frameworks used in the design of interfaces for older adults
· Identify an appropriate set of HCI tools and techniques which could be used to evaluate interfaces for
compliance with design of the interfaces for older users
· Construct an experiment to evaluate interfaces
· Provide new/adapted set of guidelines and recommendations based on your findings which could aid
designers

the current lectures at the univeristy are not that experienced in this field and i was wondering you could could take a couple of minutes of your time and give me some advice.

Question: for me to create guidlines i will firstly need to need to study and evaualte the current guidlines for the elderly. my question is how do i evauate the current guidlines?. do i do usability testing on websites that are aimed at the elderly or at all age groups and from the results look at the guidlines and see if there is issues raised. Do i do an heuristics on websites?

as you can probably tell i am a bit lost and any advice would be much appreaciated.

thank you

david

Have a look at

and also the help the aged site http://www.helptheaged.org.uk/.

WAI has a much wider brief that just the old.