Nevermind classes and function, loops and echos what about logic?

I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with building a website mainly used as a front end for mysql?
I want to build a website mainly composed of forms with various views for queries and be able to produce reports.
My background is with MS Access and have very little knowledge with php and how its accomplished online. I’ve got an application that I would love to bring to life online but simply can’t get ahead with that because there is practically no literature on the subject. All tutorials and books written about php and mysql seems to circle around building social web sites and picture sites with blogs and stuff.

Is there anyone who would know of a really great book written explicitly for dealing with a large amount of forms, queries, tables and reports?

it’s not terribly hard to build forms and output data, I’ve got that down pretty good. The bulk of my questions revolves around designing, practicality and not go on spending 6 months building a module that I will have to trash because because it doesn’t’ really work together with my other modules.

I guess when you learn with MS Access you don’t really need to worry about anything aside from the data you insert into your tables. building the application that drives this data is a whole other story.

Hi jaady,

What specifically do you feel isn’t being covered by the books you’ve seen so-far? Even though you’re not building a blog, the skills taught in those sorts of examples should still be applicable to what you’re doing (forms, validating input, saving to/querying a DB, formatting output etc).

what I am not getting is how to work smart. In all the books I have read and tutorial that I’ve followed deal with one form, and one output. I essentially stop building my site because I know I am heading towards a dead end while following these books and tutorial.

example:
I have a module in my access database that keep track of Projects.