New and just starting business for web design / development. Long

Hi All,
I am quite new and have been working with online classes, one class at the local community college and lots of to become competent. I also can give some thanks for inspration to a local user group. I have become reasonably proficeint at HTML 4 and 5, CSS (by my own harsh standards, I am at a good level here) and PHP / Mysql. I have a ways to go on the PHP/Mysql to develop complex sites, but I can get a basic ecommerce site up. I am just starting to learn Javascript at lynda.com. I am working hard to improve. I built a small website for myself for a slideshow business before really learning anything. It is pretty crude :slight_smile: Further, I built a site for free for a friends business and got paid to build an internal website / app for a local law enforcement agency. So one paid job. I also have done several complete sample sites for practice. So, I have a bunch of questions about workflow / process. Here is what I am considering right now and any input / ideas would be greatly appreciated. Note that I am not a Photoshop expert or even advanced beginner and that is by design. I do not intend to use Photoshop for mockups / design.
So here is what I am considering

1. Do crude mockups using Balsamiq or equivalent. I am looking at Balsamiq, Wireframe Sketcher, and Iplotz. These tools will not create a high fidelity mockup and I am hoping to skip this step and if clients need more, doing it in HTML / CSS.
    I would consider something like Adobe Fireworks if I determined that a high fidelity mockup is required for my workflow. Like many starting out, I am broke and would like to avoid that expense, but I can get it and learn it if it is required (I can be influenced here)
  2. I have a copy of PHPStorm and it is an excellent HTML/CSS/PHP/Java IDE. I will be using it for most of my work Stylizer (a cool CSS tool) and will be incorporating it to do the CSS work.