New Server New Domains

Hi,

I have just bought a monthly VM.

I have been building websites for the last 10 years, but i am quite new to Server world.

I’ve figured out how to create new hosting / cPanel accounts for new clients via WHM, however i am struggling to get an understanding of what is required from the domain side.

Can anyone help with the steps required for the following two scenarios.

01 - i’ve bought a new domain name for my client, and now i need to link it to the hosting / cPanel account that i have just created for them

02 - my client has purchased a domain name else where, and i now need to link it to the hosting / cPanel account that i have just created for them

Thanks so much in advance to anyone who can help.

There’s not a lot to do, really—but in both situations, you need to log into the domain host’s control panel and point those domains to your hosting account. For example, when you or your client buys a domain, it usually points to the domain host’s name servers by default, something like this:

Name Server 1: ns1.hostdomain.com
Name Server 2: ns2.hostdomain.com

Your hosting account will have its own name servers, which you would have been told about in the information sent to you. So you may just need to change the above to something like this:

Name Server 1: ns1.myhostingaccount.com
Name Server 2: ns2.myhostingaccount.com

There’s a little more to it if the sites each have their own dedicated IP address, but the above situation is very common.