New to design: at what point can I start my business?

I’m new to web design but pretty tech sauvy. I currently work for a large healthcare software company and I’m taking courses in conjunction with a state university for a CS certificate. As I’ve been reading about what those entering into the CS job market should know, HTML/CSS seem a first tier topic to learn. And as I started learning more about HTML/CSS/JS and some of the back end languages, I started realizing I could try my hand at website design for some local businesses who might need a basic site.

So my question in general is, when could I actually start designing websites for money?

I plan on learning HTML/CSS to be able to build from the ground up and to make adjustments to templates available from Wordpress, for instance. I was thinking that a basic website is all many businesses need to get started. For example, a local foreign car repair shop likely needs their contact info, directions, a list of services, a contact form, and a gallery or two to give them some initial web presence.

But as I looked into the business side of web design, I started wondering if anyone would pay for something that simple, since you could design it quickly with some of the template sites. Web hosting seemed a good way to earn some cash each month in case the business owner didn’t want to deal with the website hosting and maintenance.

So would something at this level be okay to start a web design business? Or would I have to learn some back end database language(s) to be able to provide a more robust and interactive website?

I plan on learning HTML/CSS to be able to build from the ground up and to make adjustments to templates available from Wordpress, for instance. I was thinking that a basic website is all many businesses need to get started