New To PHP and MYSQL

Hey guys im new to databases so take it easy please! But basically its an important aspect of the website i am developing so its something i have to learn. A summary of what im looking for from the database, (although i know i have alot to learn) the database must be able to:
allow users to register/login
provide the user their own space
allow users to upload pictures and also delete pictures
allow users to comment and also thumbs up other users pictures
allow users to post threads
allow users to reply to these threads

I know its alot how much will be solved by creating a database, and can anyone point me in the right direction please?

well, Most of what you have described is to be done by your server side language. the database is simply a place to store the data.

It may help if you read up on:

database normalisation
entity diagrams
referential integrity
foreign keys.

I started by listing on paper each pice of data I needed to store. then I grouped them which meant that user details like user_name, pwd, displayed name etc were in one table. address in another. a table for photos which uses the usernames foreign key, to connect/relate them. you’ll also need a set of tables, maybe two maybe three, for storing a thread title, then the thread content and then the thread responses, where each table has a value from another, to relate the records.

Have you tried building anything yet?

wow thanks for your reply its really really helpful in getting me started ie the listing of what i need for example. But no I have never built anything yet but hope to make this my first project, any tutorials or extra help will be much appreciated, i know im not going to pick this up in a day or 2

My general database design steps are three:

1: Identify Entities (User, Picture, Comment, etc) [These will be your main tables]
2: Identify Properties of the Entities (User’s Name, Email, etc) [These will be fields in your tables]