New to responsive design

I am new to responsive design. Where is a good starting point.

I particularly want to learn how to create a site for phones so the text appears readable straight away. I would rather detect the usable width of the browser rather than the width of the device

Perhaps start with a seminal article like this one, which got the ball rolling: http://alistapart.com/article/responsive-web-design/

I would rather detect the usable width of the browser rather than the width of the device

On mobiles, that’s basically the same thing. The browser fills the screen. Media queries (the bread and button of responsive design) work off the screen width.

Thanks for that Ralph. I am really after a very very simple template which I can understand which would have the following

1. It would be text only content (it would have a title)
  2. Max width 1500 px . With big screen sizes 1900 pixels then the design would center
  3. The width of the page would adjust to the width of the browser on the fly

Take a look at Twitter Bootstrap and/or Zurb Foundation.

You might not want to use them but they are both very widely regarded (an implemented). They come with plenty of documentation that has helped me to understand responsive design.

Martin

When I say text only… I mean that the content of the webpage would just be an essay with a title which continually adjusts itself to the width of the screen. With any js and css included in the webpage itself…

I just want this most basic of templates so I can learn and build

You could start with something like this:

<!DOCTYPE HTML>
<html>
<head>
<meta charset="utf-8">
<meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0">
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<style>
/* for IE8+ use border box */
*, *:before, *:after {
  -webkit-box-sizing: border-box; 
  -moz-box-sizing: border-box; 
  box-sizing: border-box;
}
/*  */
html, body {
	margin:0;
	padding:0;
}
body {
	background:#666;
	color:#fff;
	font-size:100%;