New to VB.NET

This is my first attempt at .net. I just inherited a site which is primarily .NET and the code behind is VB.NET. I picked up an older book “Muarachs’s Beginning Visual Basic” and I am on chapter 2. I am confused and overwhelmed everytime I have to look and the VB code. I am not sure if I should keep going forward or quit and save the stress. I have been unemployed for 5 months so I took the first job that gave me an offer and at about 12k pay cut too. Now I am confused if my decision was right. A portion is definitely being rusty and not working for so long. My experience in development is front end, graphics, and design. I no experience in programming. In order to understand the code I picked up this book even though it is rather old. Updating the code to C# is out of my league and would not know where to begin without a good understanding of what it is now. I have been working just 2 weeks today and I do not want to waste my employers time or mine. Please advise. Thanks.

First of all, don’t worry about it so much. The .NET ecosystem is very complex and I find the barrier to entry for any .NET language to be far higher than that for the likes of PHP. If you’ve jumped straight into a .NET role without any prior experience I’d be surprised if you didn’t feel overwhelmed when dealing with a full website.

However, I’m not going to lie to you in that the task you’ve inherited is a massive one, and that it’s going to take you at least a couple of weeks of solid reading and playing with the code to have any idea of what’s going on. You’ll need to pick up a basic ASP.NET book tailored to working with VB.NET. Luckily, SitePoint offers a book that is tailored towards the beginning programmer with code in both C# and VB.NET, titled Build Your Own ASP.NET 3.5 Web Site.