New to Web Development, Embarking on a Project

[FONT=Trebuchet MS]How’s it going? First post here so a brief introduction seems appropriate. I’m a 19 year old civil/structural engineering student. My main focus is bridge design, but I am currently studying other related fields. At the current time, I intern at a local engineering firm, attend college, work here and there at the family owned hardware store, and run a custom simulation PC business www.simrigs.com (the site isn’t up yet; right now I am working off word of mouth). In my spare time I enjoy drumming (15 years), RC helicopters, and simulation racing.

As of recent, I have had many website ideas, and just a general need to be able to create my own site. My only website experience was a high school course that taught no more than basic HTML (like 5 years ago now…), and slightly modifying WordPress themes. As of the other day, I decided I would use any spare hours I had each day to learn web languages. This is pretty much where I am at now.

I was recommended to the tutorials and book at http://htmldog.com/, in which I went though in about 10 minutes. I have read through a good chunk of the book in the last day, but a lot of it is just regurgitation or a long done out explanation of what the tutorials explained in a much simpler fashion. It covered the basics, but then kind of just stopped and left me hanging.

Here comes barrage of questions # 1. (Direct questions I will BOLD so that they are easy to find and read.)

-1: What guides do you guys recommend for learning HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and PHP? (May I request the most up to date you have? I would really hate to spend a lot of time learning old obsolete material).

-2: Should I bother with packages such as http://www.99lime.com that are supposed to streamline site creation? I know there are others out there, I haven’t looked into them all that much though.