New wamp server installed-HTTP error 404.4

I just installed newest wamp server, and now HTTP (error404.4) says I need to configure or map a handler for file extension. Tried to go to [C:\ inetmgr] , but search didn’t find inetmgr. I did manage to find file extension set up in the Control Panel, but not sure what I’m supposed to do. Tried using simple php file
[ <?php
phpinfo();
?> ]
in Dreamweaver (without the ) and got same browser message (error404.4). I don’t know where to go from here. Looks like something didn’t install correctly or Vista’s messing up again. Guess it’s obvious I’m a newbie. Can anyone advise me?

Make sure you know the address of your document root and put your phpinfo() file in there

Use this and name it index.php for now.

<h3>This is html</h3>
<?php

echo 'PHP says ... <br />';

phpinfo();

?>

Then fire up a browser and go to http://localhost or http://127.0.0.1

Now what are you getting?

same thing. I can’t seem to start the service for some reason.

If you are getting a 404 message then your service has started.

How do you know what your document root is for your localhost website?

I assumed it was in the programs, wamp, www folder which is where I “pathed” my php site; Not?
But when I go to the wamp icon and select “put online” I get an error message indicating that the service hasn’t been started (even though I already selected to start all services).

Sorry, I am not a wamp user, I cannot help you … can anyone else help?

Thanks for trying…
anyone??

I’m a bit clumsy navigating this forum, too (sorry). Would you please let me know if I have should list my request/problem in a different thread than php?

No, you are in the right place…

Have you tried: (win2k server anyhow)

Start / Programs / Administrative Tools / Services / then on the list look for “Apache” or “www server” then stop/start/restart ?

Then you’d know that your webserver had started.

Listen, we are going to keep at it, eh?