New website has horrible search engine results

I just built a website for someone and thought the design and content was well done. But after like 2-3 weeks online, this website is like on page 10.

I did all of the SEO stuff I know, and I have a Google Webmaster account.

What is wrong?

Did Google not crawl the latest version?

Do I need even more keywords?

Do I have to cheat like all of my client’s competition?

Is the problem that there are no backlinks?

When I had my own website several years ago, it seems to me it took me 3 months before my articles started showing up, but even that seemed insane.

:cry:

Sites gain credibility over time. It takes longer than that to compete with other sites, in my experience. In my view, it’s always a mistake to reply on a search engine for traffic. Now’s the time to be getting into proper marketing.

Did you mean “rely on”?

Yes, sorry.

Why wouldn’t you want to rely on search engines?

Can you be more specific?

If after a fortnight and there are 10 results per page then your ranking is fantastic!

Can you imagine how many other sites are striving to be in the Top 100?

With new sites, I think Google gives an initial high ranking which is then gradually adjusted due to the following factors:

• high bounce rate
  • time on site
  • page loading time
  • mobile friendly
  • etc

If it was easy we would all be making a fortune :smile:

1 Like