(newbie) editing html elements from php form data (headache)

hi, I’m a newbie to php, I’m writing a a script right now but I’m stuck at this situation…

i want visitors to edit a specific html elements permanently through a form in another page coded with php or any other suitable language for this purpose…

explanation:

let’s say the index.html page has a paragraph like

<p>XXXXXXXXXXX</p>

i want visitors to edit this paragraph through a form like:

Paragraph : |___________|

[submit]

and the XXXXXXXXXXX changes permanently

NOTE: if you answered the question i hope the code would be in two separate pages, please…

i hope you get the question and answer it quickly cuz I’m in grave need of it…
thank you in advance

Alison…

Hey Alison, we are more than happy to help you achieve this goal, but we are not in the business of doing it all for you :wink:

A few things need to be considered and determined before we can guide you into the appropriate path to take.

1. Are you members going to be authenticated (by a username and password)?
  2. Is the updated paragraph going to be stored in a table or a file?
  3. Does each member get to update the paragraph to their own liking (or can the changes be seen by all members)?
  4. Have you started any coding towards this project?

A few things need to be considered and determined before we can guide you into the appropriate path to take.

1. Are you members going to be authenticated (by a username and password)?
    No, it’s like an installation page…
  2. Is the updated paragraph going to be stored in a table or a file?
    it will be in a html file
  3. Does each member get to update the paragraph to their own liking (or can the changes be seen by all members)?
    Since there is no members, the changes be seen by all members…
  4. Have you started any coding towards this project?
    i worte the outline and decided the features, also wrote a few lines… but when i got there i stopped writing, and searched for solution…