Newbie Here, Need Some Serious Advice on How to Sell My Blog

I looked at a few articles and I was confident in selling but at the last minute I though I should ask for advice since this is my first time.

My biggest concern is transferring the Wordpress blog to the buyer I basically need to know the steps to take in order to transfer the blog & domain to the buyer as smooth as possible.

The way I understand it, I just need to back up the database file and send it to the buyer then I transfer the domain to the buyer, I’m hosted on Godaddy by the way.

Can anyone please break down the steps for me and I would also like to know the best method of accepting payment because I was originally thinking of Paypal.

Thanks!

How much do you expect to sell the blog for? In general, it’s better to use an escrow service to transfer a website, but if it has little to no revenue or traffic, it might not be worth it.

The basic steps to sell a site are:

1. Gather proof of your traffic and revenue stats.
  2. Create the listing.
  3. Answer questions from potential buyers during the listing.
  4. When the auction is over, contact the winner to determine how they would like to transfer the site. The easiest thing for you would be to provide access to your hosting control panel. Some buyers might ask you to move the site for them, or want you to make a site backup and send it to them.
  5. Transfer the payment and the site using the method you and the buyer have agreed upon.

You’d be surprised how many problems can come up during this simple process.

Transferring the blog can be tricky if you haven’t done it before.

A couple of links for you if they help: my own article on transfers http://www.experienced-people.co.uk/1022-transfer-site-new-hosting/ and a guide to transfer of Wordpress blogs [URL=“http://www.velvetblues.com/web-development-blog/how-to-move-a-wordpress-blog-or-website/”]http://www.velvetblues.com/web-development-blog/how-to-move-a-wordpress-blog-or-website/.