NFL Final Score Results Project

I’m a beginner at this so bare with me. I would like to have my web page automatically get the FINAL NFL football scores from some other site automatically via php scripting in order to calculate football pool results. I haven’t found a site that lists the actual winners directly but they all pretty much display the final score results which means the data would need to be parsed in a clever way. I’m thinking that there is probably a site out there that has this data in the format I want. I just haven’t found it yet. I’m looking for a little direction and advise on tackling this project. Right now my idea is strip tags from a given website and stuff the raw data into an array for processing. What I don’t know is how to just get the relevant data so there is not a lot of garbage in there.

The manual way I did this in the past was to simply use excel to total up the number of incorrect picks for each person and after the games were over I would have to manually delete the column of each team that won so the number of incorrect picks would be updated to reveal that weeks winner of the pool. That worked OK but it certainly wasn’t automatic and still required more time than I wanted to spend on it.

I have already got the general look of the table close to the way I want it and you can see from This Code Example of initial static data that once the winning teams are determined, then all I need to do is remove the data from the respective columns so the number of incorrect picks can update. The trick is to get the winning teams to automatically register via another site and do all of the calculations automatically on the server side. Php seems like it would work well here to dynamically update the results.