NON-CMS Web Development: How To?

Need some advice…

I have built sites using Joomla or Wordpress for the past 8 years. Far from a beginner and far from an expert. Had a potential client reach out to ask if I programmed in HTML. I said no because I have not learned HTML 5 and I don’t feel comfortable flying by the seat of my pants like some folks do.

This got me to thinking - I have probably only built one or two sites 10 years ago from straight HTML.

I don’t know if I would know how to do it. I know the world does no revolve around CMS site. Funny thing is - I’ve worked so long in them - I don’t know how to do it otherwise.

1 - How are straight html site kept safe? (I am on a VPS and my CMS sites have security plugins over and above how they are written)

2 - I’m not a programmer - how do I extend a straight-html site? Say a client wants a calendar or a gallery?

3 - Aren’t there CSS libraries out there that I can incorporate?

These are good questions for starters - I’d really appreciate any thoughts and advice. I really don’t quite know where to begin.

Thanks!

HTML is not an executable code. There is no way to hack it. If you use a scripting language such as PHP or something else, that could possibly be exploitable.

You can try to find existing code, often in PHP or some other scripting language, and embed it within your HTML. Or you can write the code yourself using a scripting language like PHP or a whole host of other languages.

I think so. But I cannot imagine why anyone would want use them.

You could start by purchasing a book on HTML and CSS. Sitepoint sells books. There plenty of books from a bunch of publishers. For a newbie, I have to recommend a hard copy book. I still have my first HTML and CSS book sitting right here on my desk! I don’t need to refer to it very much any more. But I have had to refer to it many times over the years. It is convenient to have a book on your desk.