Non-designer asks - which platform to build new site in?

I am a small business owner who needs to get started with a designer to build a new, functional website. My business is video and photography.

I have been surprised that I have not been able to find any introductory information on which TYPE of platform (if I am using the right terminology) to go with. I am NOT interested in learning how to build the site - I want a pro to do that, but I would like them to be able to hand off to me at completion, showing me to how to add content to the site on a perhaps twice-monthly basis.

There’s plenty of ‘within-application’ material out there, but it’s harder to gain the wider approach of sorting the wood from the trips.

In searching through previous sitepoint forums for possible existing answers, I did find this closed thread posting : “WORDPRESS, DRUPAL, or JOOMLA for a corporate site”

at URL : http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/showthread.php?682156-WORDPRESS-DRUPAL-or-JOOMLA-for-a-corporate-site&highlight=choosing+site+type

My ongoing, regular contributions would be :

1. Articles (blogs, etc)
  2. Samples of new work - video clips, photos

My key goals are to :

1. Launch a truly elegant, pro site. It does not need to be large, nor complex. It has to look very good.

2. Have the site be as efficient and simple a user experience as possible (a lot of my clients are harried and have short attention spans. They need to ‘get in/get out’). Fast loads, navigation tools locked into place on screen as much as possible, etc.

3. Have sufficient understanding that I can be pretty much in charge of clean, elegant looking updates to content, knowing also when it’s time to go back to the design team for the more structurally-oriented changes.

I’ve gone as far as doing wire-frame mockups of my proposed new site, and have
worked my way through the tutorials here : http://codex.wordpress.org/Main_Page