Non Paying Client

I own a website design company (sole proprietorship). I have a client (let’s call him Joe) who I have been working with for 3 -4 years. The original bill to him as done as I usually do it - 1/2 down and the balance when the site was done. I’ve clearly explained that all updates (other than very small text changes or swapping out an image or two) are billed at $35 per hour. This person is an elderly man who has dreams of becoming a country star. He has many, many changes and additions, at one point he decided he wanted to be able to make the changes himself, so we decided together to re-design his site in a WordPress format, to make it easier for him to make changes. He still could not make very many changes himself. I continued to work with him, he would call sometimes multiple times per day - some calls lasting an hour or more, sending emails and requesting changes. Many times I would make a change and his reaction would be “that’s great” and then a few weeks later he wants it changed completely. These calls and email would come in bursts sometimes several per day for a few weeks and then a month or more might go by and I would not hear from him again.

On September 14, 2012 I sent him an email for work that I had done over the previous approximately 4 months for $565.05. He blew his stack. He didn’t want to pay and he decided he wanted someone else to take over his site. I said fine and just pay the invoice for work already done and I’ll send you whatever you want. On the invoice, under “Payment Terms” it reads: “PLEASE READ SPECIAL TERMS BELOW”. Here are the special terms:

PAYMENT TERMS:
As soon as full payment of $565.06 is made to my PayPal account, I will do any and all of the following (choices to be made by Joe):
• Send Joe a backup copy of the WordPress Database or give him access so that he or his representative can access the database.