Not getting error for headers

Hi,
I’m new to PHP. Currently I’m learning on output buffering. Everyone says that there would an error if there is an output before header() function call. This is same with session() function. Currently I’m not getting this error (Cannot modify header information…) while practicing on localhost. I’m not sure what is problem. I’ve not changed my ‘php.ini’. I’m using PHP 5.4.3 and Appache 2.2.22. I want to use buffer functions to buffer my output before I can send it to browser. For practice I want to see this error and then remove this error using output buffering.

Can anyone please let me know how I would get this header errors? The example that I’ve used is available in php.net. That is:

<html>
<?php
/* This will give an error. Note the output
 * above, which is before the header() call */
header('Location: http://www.google.com/');
?> 

Thanks,

Sounds like you have output buffering turned on in your php.ini file (http://www.php.net/manual/en/outcontrol.configuration.php#ini.output-buffering).

That is weird.

I checked the PHP Manual and also forced error_reporting(-1); and ini_set(‘display_errors’,1); and the elusive Cannot modify header information… never appeared ?

I reckon this is a job for @Salathe; or another PHP Guru.

I’ve solved the mystery! What you get is a warning:

PHP Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at…

warnings don’t kill the script and if you are using a production server that does not display warnings you don’t see it. I got the quoted message from my php error log.

Hi,
Output buffering is off in php.ini.

Hi,
I’ve checked php error log page. There is no such warning or error. I’m using default php.ini.