OK to "learn as I go" doing client work?

Title pretty much sums up my question. Basically, I’m wondering if it’s OK to do client work while I’m still learning the ropes. I can charge less, but if the sites I build aren’t quite up to snuff due to inexperience, The overall quality of the web will decrease (albeit ever so slightly). Do I rightly feel hesitant to create sites that, for example, aren’t responsive, or aren’t as lean as they could be, etc. Should I just plan on coming back in the future and updating the sites?

Cheers,

-Bryce

[font=verdana]We’re all still learning…

I think if you’re up front with your potential customers, it should be fine. Warn them that you’re only doing the basics at the moment, explain that you can charge them a low price that reflects that, and then the decision is up to them. If they’ve only got a limited budget then they can take you up on the offer, with realistic expectations what they will get out of it. If they want something that is beyond your capabilities and have funds to match then they can choose to go with someone else.

What would be wrong would be to take their money without giving them a fair assessment of what you’re able to produce. I know there are loads of webbists out there who do exactly that – we see them on here all the time asking for advice on really, really basic questions while at the same time peddling their services – but that doesn’t mean it’s a sound business plan. Most potential clients will appreciate your honesty, and if the site doesn’t turn out to be quite as slick as they had wanted then they can’t claim it’s because you were keeping vital information from them.[/font]

I will second that, not a month goes by without something being new, depreciated or replaced completely.
CSS & HTML have been overhauled already, PHP is starting the same process, jQueryII is on the cards for 2013
and there are rumblings of plain ordinary Javascript being given a complete re-working from the ground up.