Once again: What host do you recommend?

I know you are probably saying “just use the search feature there are a ton of threads on this topic”. I was going to post in the other thread, but it’s closed already. My issue is that I’m coming into this without a lot of knowledge and after doing a quick google search realized that there are a lot of things to consider and a lot of different options.

I’m a recent CS grad that’s trying to get on the job market. I’m trying to build a site that is basically going to act as my portfolio/resume. Something that I can put all of my projects in (including a few websites done with PhP/MySQL, which is what makes having a web portfolio somewhat attractive for me). Then I can just hand out a business card or list the website on my resume and if they want to look at projects I’ve done (or at least the source code, in some cases it might be hard to get a project working on another computer).

So I’m not necessarily expecting a lot of traffic to be hitting my site on a daily basis. The only limiting factor I can see is that php/mysql website I referenced earlier has a database back-end with a few tables (3 I believe), and the php code will connect/select data from tables/sort/etc. and put that information up on the page. There will be a bit of insert/update as well, but that will only be done by me so I can handle it if it takes a few seconds longer to load pages when those commands are being run.

From the other “What host do you recommend?” thread:

1. Establish your requirements, i.e., Linux, Apache 2.4+, PHP 5.2+, MySQL 5+, the preferred control panel (e.g., cPanel) and storage and bandwidth requirements. Remember to allocate for log files, databases, e-mail (attachments) and growth.

2. If you’re looking for a VPS or dedicated server, remember to ask what the host’s managed services provide. Remember, a non-managed host must be monitored by you 24/7/365¼!