Only show content wrapper if there's content

Hi there,

Now, I’m really new at PHP, so maybe you’ll laugh at me. I can live with that.

I’m in the middle of creating an info screen at to work show guests and news. I’m fetching the data from our intranet, which runs on Joomla. The example below fetches today’s guests from the database based on the category.

This works fine — however, I only want the entire section#todaysguests to show if there’s actually anything to show. I’ve tried running the while just before the section, but it creates a new section for every guest of the day, so I’m really not sure how to fix this.

Hope you guys can help — thanks!

<?php
	$sql1 = "select * from flex_content where catid=186 and state=1 order by id desc";
	$query1 = mysql_query($sql1);
?>
<section id="todaysguests" class="panel">
	<div class="panel-wrapper">
		<h1>Dagens gæster & møder</h1>
		<ul>
			<?php
				while(($row = mysql_fetch_array($query1)) && (strtotime($row[19]) > strtotime(strftime('%F %T'))) && (strtotime($row[18]) < strtotime(strftime('%F %T')))) {
			?>
				<li>
					<h2><?php echo $row[5] ?></h2>
					<p><?php echo utf8_encode($row[2]) ?></p>
				</li>
			<?php }  ?>
		</ul>
	</div>
</section>

After executing the query, count the number of returned rows. If there are rows, print the div, otherwise, print something else (or nothing):

<?php
	$sql1 = "select * from flex_content where catid=186 and state=1 order by id desc";
	$query1 = mysql_query($sql1);
$rows = mysql_num_rows($query1);
if($rows > 0)
{
?>
<section id="todaysguests" class="panel">
	<div class="panel-wrapper">
		<h1>Dagens gæster & møder</h1>
		<ul>
			<?php
				while(($row = mysql_fetch_array($query1)) && (strtotime($row[19]) > strtotime(strftime('%F %T'))) && (strtotime($row[18]) < strtotime(strftime('%F %T')))) {
			?>
				<li>
					<h2><?php echo $row[5] ?></h2>
					<p><?php echo utf8_encode($row[2]) ?></p>
				</li>
			<?php }  ?>
		</ul>
	</div>
</section>
<?php
}
else
{