Only want a few lines of description

I am needing to only have like 5 lines of the item description shown on a page. I have looked and I cannot find the answer anywhere.

my html looks like this

<p><?php echo $desc; ?></p>

You can use substr to get a certain amount of characters…

Are your item descriptions new lines done by \n? How do you determine the new lines?

I dont have anything determine new lines. I am letting the data get pulled from the table. I am new to php (only been doing it about a month) and I am still learning.

Here you can see what I have. I would like the wording to be the same length as the image if possible.

http://puu.sh/cZJ5C/ea939babeb.png

Ok hypotheticallly let’s imagine this. We somehow figure out the code to only show up to “for different size.”

What if a user resizes the text? PHP can’t handle that.

So you’ll need to figure out if you want to have just a standard amount of text and ignore what happens if users resize text, or do this in Javascript to hwere it can (maybe?) update on the fly.

1 Like

I would just use the standard amount of text. If the user resizes it then I would understand it would be bigger and I would hope the user would to.

Another users “standard” might be bigger/smaller than YOURS though. Ignoring the resize factor. They might just have a bigger standard (they can set it to whatever they want)

ok, so what would your suggestion be to get this working? Could you please send me to where I can learn about it and implement it?

Yea like @RyanReese said, you can’t really do this in PHP outside of just using substr. PHP has no knowledge of the browser, it just spits stuff out.