OOP deisgn question

I’m pretty new to OOP and been programming in it successfully in terms of getting things to work but I have found I keep running into a similar problem and am not sure what to ‘Google query’ to get answers.

Basically I have 3 classes, projects, clients, people. I run into the issue of what is the best way to access each from each other.

For instance, I want to grab all projects based on the current client and there are a couple of ways I have thought of how to do this but do not know the ‘best’ way to do it.

1: have a method in the client class that grabs all the project info, store a multi-dimensional array, foreach said array to extract data
2: have a method in the client class that creates multiple project objects and store in an array to do a foreach on
3: create a new object using the project class and pass the client id to it

Advantages/Disadvantages (that I can think of)
1: (probably the worst idea) creates possibility of multiple methods in multiple classes that do almost/same thing however leaves all the projects in the client object
2: same as above but keeps everything more object oriented
3: seems like the right choice but now there’s no ‘easy way’ to connect the projects to the client (for instance if I have n number of clients i can no longer just do $client->projects->name (I know I could do ${‘clients’.$x} and ${‘projects’.x} but that seems un-needed, like I’m missing an important step/concept of oop).

Any thoughts, opinions, insights from anyone? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Justin

While there are many disagree with the use of ORM (especially for simple projects) it will likely result in DRY’er code than you could realistically construct.

Although the entities being modelled are not the same there are three with similar relationships.

Cheers,
Alex

Hi Justin,

Are you using a Database or just Classes?

Steve

@PCSpectra thanks, not sure that’s what I was looking for though…