OOP Newbie question

Hello,
i am really new to php oop and to get start i had made a simple sms object as follows.

<?php
class send_sms{

var $number; 
var $res;

function send($number){ 
                $this->number=$number;

//send sms
               $url="http://api.clickatell.com/http/sendmsg?user=xxx&password=xxx&api_id=33xx523&to=" . $this->number . "&text=test message";
               $result=file_get_contents($url);

$this->res=$result;
	}
}

and i am calling this object as follows

$sms=new send_sms(); 
$sms->send('123456');
echo $sms->res;

now, instead of this i could have make a simple function to send this sms as follows

function send($no){
   $url=$url="http://api.clickatell.com/http/sendmsg?user=xxx&password=xxx&api_id=33xx523&to=" . $no . "&text=test message";
   return fopen($url);
}

$result=send('123456');
echo $result

So my question is , i don’t understand why OOP is require since same think can be done using a simple function!
Please explain :slight_smile:

Yes you’re right. For simple and basic functions there is probably no real advantage to using oop over procedural programming.

A class/object contains the properties and methods to manipulate those properties in one single stand-alone, completely portable piece of code.

Consider these 2 examples where imo oop is much more practical than procedural.

1. a game requiring 2 dice.

You could have 2 instances of a single die class. The class has a property to store the current rolled number and methods to roll the die and return the current number.

1. a database where you store information about books (title, author, isbn, publish date, edition etc etc)