OOP PHP Is it possible to call on a function from other classes

I am a bit new to OOP although I have been coding procedural PHP for years.

Here is what I am trying to figure out.

Say I have several classes and I want to call on a function from one of those classes inside a function in the other classes. What is the best way to do this? Do I have to extend them all from the first one, that seems like it would get really confusing if I have 8-10 different classes.

Below is a scenario of something similar to what I would like to do.

class History
{
          public function setHistory()
          {
               $sql = "insert into history (some columns here) values (some values here)";
               $result = mysql_query($sql);
          }
}

class Tasks
{
          public function updateTask()
          {
               $result = mysql_query("update task set subject = "testing" where task_id = $this->task_id ");
               $setHistory();   //TRYING TO CALL FUNCTION FROM OTHER CLASS
          }
}

class Contact
{
          public function updateContact()
          {
              $result = mysql_query("update contact set first_name = "John" where contact_id = $this->contact_id ");
              $setHistory();   //AGAIN IM TRYING TO CALL FUNCTION FROM OTHER CLASS
          }
}

So I might want to put data into the history table from all the other classes but I don’t really want to have to build a function inside each and every class that does the same thing.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

The simplest option (I’ll show a better way in just a bit) is to create a global history object.

$history = new History();

class Tasks
{
          {
               global $history;

$history->setHistory();
          }
}