Opinions on node js?

gm all.
Was wondering what all the js experts and ja glitterati thought of node js?
thx
D

it’s cool.

I’m not a js expert, so maybe I shouldn’t respond, but I’m starting a MEAN stack project with a colleague as a side project this fall. Neither of us is JS experts, neither have used Node.js or MongoDB. We’re looking to 1) Get better at JS. 2) Learn the basics++ of Node.js and 3) Learn more about the uses of NoSQL.

A distant 4) is come up with a valid application in the end :smiley:

I expect it’ll be easier to do in tandem with another programmer. When I was job hunting, I saw far more requests for Node.js / JavaScript than I did of the “standard” PHP devs.

For whatever that’s worth, since you’re probably in a different region with a different skill set.

1 Like

It’s insanely popular right now, it seems to be taking off like RoR did but for both the Startup and the Enterprise crowds.

I haven’t worked with it but it’s something I would like to do. Even though I haven’t had the time to learn it yet, I’ve started recommending it to anyone asking me how to get into web development for the sole reason that it reduces the amount of languages they have to learn. Takes away 2 languages if you use Mongo.

Hello jeffreylees. nope not at all. i want to improve my js skills as well and thought if forced to create an entire site w/it they might improve a bit faster.
And thx Mawburn, don’t know waht RoR or Mongo is but for now am just trying to get js into my skull. I am finding that i can read & understand the code better. but coding in it is far from natural and am very basic at it.
very very frustrating.
D

don’t know waht RoR or Mongo is

Ruby on Rails - Discourse and I think the rest of Sitepoint is built on this.
MongoDB - Basically a No-SQL Javascript based database where data is represented as JSON objects. It’s the M in MEAN.

but for now am just trying to get js into my skull.