Optiminzing a query

Hi guys!

Thanks to help I got regarding a question about adding “scoring” option to a table, I’ve since made the changes, but the query I’ve ended up with is very slow — previously, fractions of a second, whereas now it’s 9+ seconds:

SELECT bookmarks.id, links.user_id, bookmarks.url, bookmarks.title, SUBSTR(bookmarks.snippet, 1, 100) as snippet, GROUP_CONCAT(tags.tag) AS tags, bookmarks.datetime, links.status FROM bookmarks, links, tags WHERE (links.status = 'public') AND (links.bookmark_id = bookmarks.id) AND (tags.bookmark_id = bookmarks.id) GROUP BY bookmarks.id ORDER BY bookmarks.datetime DESC LIMIT 0, 9

Just to recap, the status and user_id columns in the link table were previously in the bookmark table.

So now, I can better track how many times the same bookmark has been added, and build some kind of ranking system.

I’m not a MySQL expert, and I’d really appreciate any pointers here on how to speed this query right up!

please do a SHOW CREATE TABLE for each of the tables, so that we can see the indexes that are defined

what are the relationships between the tables? i mean the one-to-many relationships, which table is the “one” and which table is the “many”

Hi and thanks for the quick reply!

Many tags relate to one bookmark.

Many links relate to one bookmark.

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `bookmarks` (
  `id` int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,
  `url` text,
  `title` text,
  `snippet` text,
  `datetime` datetime default NULL,
  PRIMARY KEY  (`id`),
  KEY `datetime` (`datetime`),
  FULLTEXT KEY `title` (`title`,`snippet`)
) ENGINE=MyISAM  DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1 AUTO_INCREMENT=4640 ;
CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `links` (
  `id` mediumint(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,
  `user_id` mediumint(11) NOT NULL,
  `bookmark_id` int(11) NOT NULL,
  `status` enum('public','private') NOT NULL default 'public',
  UNIQUE KEY `id` (`id`)
) ENGINE=MyISAM  DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1 AUTO_INCREMENT=4627 ;
CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `tags` (