Oracle performance with large tables

Hi guys!

I’m a junior php developer with little experience in large relational databases, read a lot theory since university but little practice (just mysql little installs at home), I’m wondering if you could gimme a hand…

Now I’m dealing with an oracle db whose tables usually have thousands to few million rows. I’d like to speed up some queries involving in some cases 4 level inner joins, performing poorly imho (40 secs!), and after a second read on Rudy’s Simply SQL I reach the conclusion Indexes and Views could improve those results, since most of them are too complicated (at this moment) for me to think on rewriting them. Notice the db is rarely updated/inserted, 3-4 times a year, all we do is selecting.

So I’d like to know if you guys think these indexes could be a nice first step or should I try to set up an oracle free server at home to test and measure all this stuff. Before asking the dba to give me permissions to create views and indexes I’d like to make myself sure of what I need and want to do since there’s a lot of people working on the server.

Any help would be appreciated!

indexes will definitely improve performance of queries, if they don’t already exist

you’ll have to optimize each query separately, though, because an index that improves one query might have no effect on another

the good news is that you don’t have to worry about impacting updates

note that views won’t do a thing for performance, they’re just a “re-statement” of a query, and they can make queries that use the views simpler and easier to understand

Since database updates are so infrequent, have you considered dumping all the data into a huge de-normalised table that’s indexed to the hilt?

Every time the DB is modified, re-run the query to build up the table again and do all of your selects against that.

Cheers,
D.