Output PHP with JavaScript

Hi everyone, I hope you can help.
I am trying to use Google maps with information windows. I would like to add some php data into the info window. Can this be done? I am adding html into the info window successfully, but I try and do <?= $somePHPvar; ?> within the html, and this is what is not working.
My Javascript is in a separate .js file, and my php is above the html in the index.php file.

Thank you.

You’ve probably thought of this already, but do you have the short tags <? ... ?> enabled for your version of PHP?

Hi. Yes I do, it’s a local Vagrant LAMP stack using PHP 5.5. I have also tried <?php ?>

I am by no means an expert, but PHP is surely a server-side language, so by the time your page is with the browser for display, the PHP side has all been done. So I don’t think you’ll be able to call PHP from Javascript, unless you employ Ajax calls to execute the PHP when the JS needs to.

I am hoping I can save retrieved data in a php variable and then pass it to the content part of the Google maps information window, but the maps is in javascript.

Is there a way you could assign the value that you need to a non-displayed part of the page, then use your javascript to retrieve the value from there for use with Google Maps?

Or, show us some code.

Either that or if you don’t know the value until after your visitor starts interacting with the page then use an ajax call to retrieve it from the server.

So lets draw together droop and fel’s posts:

Execution Times:
PHP executes on the server. It parses the PHP file, and exports pure HTML to the client. This ends PHP’s execution cycle.
Javascript executes on the client. It interacts with the HTML that the client has received. It cannot() interact with PHP.
(
: It can interact with the HTML output of AJAX requests to PHP pages.)

#If the data is known at page-load time
Store the data in a javascript variable inside your script:

var storeddata = “<?php echo $data; ?>”