Page scrolling and overflowing over the page to the right problem

Hi there,

I’m pretty new to CSS and having a problem with my page, and am wondering if you guys can help.
Basicly I have bar at the top and a bar at the bottom of the page, which I have stretched from one end of the page to the other with width:100% and margins and padding set to 0;

I then have a 960px holder centered in the middle of the page (no issues with this or anything contained in it as far as i can see)

I have the body width set to width:auto and margin:0 auto; padding:0;

When I view my page in both firefox and IE the page seems to look fine but there is a scrollbar at the bottom of the page and when I drag it the page has stretched out quite a bit. Its strange as the top and bottom bars stretch out part way then stop but then the page carries on a bit still.

Does anyone know what might be causing my problem?

Regards,

Gareth

You haven’t set the left position so 100% may be applied from where the element already is sitting in the flow and that would take it wider than 100%.

I’d need to see the whole structure but why are the absolute elements set to 100%. Is there a parent that they need to match width with?

Usually a problem is a combination of the existing structure and the settings applied so we would need to see more for a definitive answer.

The answer will most certainly be that something is too big somewhere :wink:

Hey Paul, yep I set it to 100% as I thought this would match to the holder div which is 960px. Changing the width of the links div to 960px aswell has solved the problem.
I know it wasn’t a definate answer as to why CSS would even cause the problem I was having, but thank you for drawing my attention to the width at 100% and helping me figure out the issue.

Many thanks,

Gareth

Do you have left or right padding on your 100% width header or footer? If so, you’re going to need to modify your width, say something like:

width:96%;
padding: 0 2%;