Parsing content from server file(s), selecting and inserting into page HTML (not DOM)

I have a problem for which JavaScript seems to be the most reasonable solution. While I’ve been programming for over 20 years (C, C++, Korn/Bourne Shell, traces of Perl, …, and lately (X)HTML with CSS) most of what I know of JavaScript is that the O’Reilly Rhino Book is big and heavy. Okay, I’ve read parts of it and I know I have to absorb the model of computation, the value/object subtleties, and so forth. What I’m looking for is what language parts/tools I should be studying to complete the task at hand. The gaps mostly have to do with I/O, which is typical when you are in an unfamiliar environment.

I’ll describe that task in some detail so you won’t go chasing quickie solutions that can’t do the job.

I’m now managing a web site which is embedding ads from a Big E-tailer. (If you’re thinking big, you’ve got the right one.) We have ad blocks for a large number of books and a variety of swag (totes, banners, pins, mugs) and we’d like random selection of ad blocks, as below. Since each ad block results in a request to Big E-tailer’s servers, and since our ‘library’ of ad blocks may run into the hundreds, we don’t want the code for a block to be interpreted unless we choose it for display. The site is hosted by a service that doesn’t support server-side execution, but does allow us to store url-accessible files (via http, not ftp).

In addition we’d also like to have a lot of control over how the blocks are selected, so we would like to be able to store parameters both with the ad blocks and in the display spaces. (Example to follow.) My feeling is that it would be fastest and least stressful all around if the ad blocks’ HTML could be stored, with the control parameters, in a single file on the file system we see in our hosting company’s server environment. We might have a second file, also there, with parameters for the various display spaces.