Partnership!

Let me start off by saying that I have done a search on “partnerships” already on sitepoint, but I feel I should still start my own thread since this situation might be unique to me. if not, there is still no harm. :slight_smile:

I have been planning a website venture for a little bit over a year now. I have:

• developed and coded the XHTML/CSS of my website,
  • done research on the market (assessing the value of the functions of my website),
  • done research on website usability, accessibility… and all that good stuff,
  • developed the strategy plan (launching, marketing, operations, future goals).

I have found a potential partner, who has been helping me develop my website - handling the server-side stuff (implementing drupal CMS and installing modules, etc). Since I am a layman in PHP, his purpose is valuable to the development of this website, at the moment.

How do I decide how much equity-share he should get on this website?

Since I have done most of the work, I don’t think this should be a 50:50 partnership. After all, the service he offers (server-side stuff) is not ‘unique’ (i can always hire another php guy, but I am willing to give up a share since I want him to feel committed and motivated).

I understand that most web/software ventures are formed on partnerships - Microsoft’s Bill Gates and Paul Allen, Google’s Larry Page and Sergey Brin, The two Youtube founders, etc. How do they decide on the conditions of their partnership?

Any advice will be MUCH appreciated.

Partnerships in startups that don’t involve existing businesses or large amounts of capital are generally formed as, well, partnerships a near even split as you are truly taking on a co-creator more than just someone with a set of skills. Sure you can hire someone directly but it’s costly and inflexible. For your ‘partner’ they assume a great deal of risk in having the project go no where fast and losing the revenue from their valuable time. Thus you are in it together.