Pausing form display

I have a large MySQL database. I built an HTML search page to limit the results and then a PHP page to display the results to either update or delete. My problem is that there is often many responses to my query and the form just repeats down the page and beyond.

I’ve read a lot on the web and understood that if I learned JavaScript that would solve my problem. I’ve gone through two complete video series of videos and now have a vague understanding of JS but when I try to work it into my code it doesn’t work. Then I read something that it can’t be done with JS.

Is there any way of pausing the form displays either using PHP and/or JavaScript? Or something else. It’s not the end of the world but it would be so much easier if it would stop after each result/form and I could hit a “Next” button to get the following record.

Thanks

I think (and I’m no expert) that you’d normally do this with pagination - you already mentioned that you’re limiting the results, so you’d draw perhaps ten results and a ‘next’ button, and a ‘previous’ button once you’re part way through the result set. Use the LIMIT keyword in the query to set the start position and number of results returned. Or you could create an array with the results, and use a form and (probably) Javascript to allow you to move around the results array to edit them.

A bit more detail might help others give more useful information. I don’t think you have to use Javascript to solve the problem, just have a look around here for stuff about multi-page forms and query results pagination.

1 Like

Thank you. I’m self taught at PHP too and not very good yet. I was unaware of the limit command. I don’t know if it will solve my problem but I’ll read further and see if I can find a way to get it to ‘continue’ after limiting it to one record. Again, thanks.