Pesky Suckerfish Nav

This is one of those simple css issues that just fries my brain. I think I’m telling my target two things at once but can’t be sure.

I have a div with a background image that serves as navigation on this website. Only one of the three main buttons has the drop down suckerfish style navigation functionality. I set the css ‘color’ property to change the text to white on hover for these, but when you roll over the middle one, About The Fund, it isn’t responding … or is being overridden.

I’m just trying to get the words “About The Fund” to change to white upon hover.

http://elasticitydev.com/iSelectFund/

Thanks
| scott

Hey Scott,

I’m a newbie myself, but the amount of questions I ask on here, I think its time I should give something back!

I hope this works:

#menu li ul li a:hover {
background-color:#1c1c1c;
padding:10px;
display:block;
width:306px;
color:#FFF;

If this doesnt work, I’m sure someone will correct me :slight_smile:

Cheers

You’re not getting it because the structure is different for that item - if you look at the other links, you’ve got the div & UL inside the <a> element (which, while allowed in HTML5, is clunky and clumsy and not all the browsers support it cleanly…, but for the one you’re having an issue with, the <a> is inside the div and ul, so you’re structure is completely different, and different rules of specificity will apply.

Just because you place a class/id on an element doesn’t mean that is the css which will be applied. Read this thread for more information.

I figured it was something like that. I still can’t seem to target it correctly. What would be a way to just tell that whole div to change color to whit on hover.

I just tried this:

#menu li a:hover {
color:#FFF;
}

But that only works obviously when you roll over the actual anchor. I need it to light up the whole time the button is over it.

This should work, but there might be browser quirks…

#menu li:hover > a, #menu li a:hover { color: #fff; }