Php inside php [category->name]

Hi I’m quite new to php, is the below possible? i.e creating a variable out of other php. It’s not working for me at the moment. Cheers

$cat = '$category->name';

No. Even if you could, you shouldn’t. It’s bad practice, because it could lead to unreadable and unstable code.

Use arrays:

http://www.php.net/manual/en/language.types.array.php

You’re going to need to adjust the way you’re thinking about solving your problem.

umm do you mean variable variables? Take a look at this article and you will see how to do it:
http://www.php.net/manual/en/language.variables.variable.php

That’s horrific.

If you need to use these, you’re probably thinking about the problem the wrong way and should re-evaluate how you’re solving it.

lol the 5th result for Googling “variable variables” is this: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/543792/php-variable-variables

Well you dont need to get too defensive, I was just trying to guess what the OP was asking for since I wasnt quite sure tbh. If you really want to expand this topic, PHP array aint a good solution since they aint object oriented. I have made my own collection classes and they are what I’m using for my application, but then the topic can keep going and will never end.

Well, not really. I was talking more about best practices, not changing the scope. Turning a small data structure into a complete functioning object changes the entire scope of this and everything else involved. What the OP wanted to do can be easily accomplished with simply a slight shift in thinking. PHP Arrays are inherently associative, so the same thinking can be applied to most other languages (whether they are called arrays or something else).