PHP & Javascript Combined Problem

Hi,

I am very new to Java Script and currently working on a program. Basically i am developing a pharmaceutical website. I have a php form with a drop down menu. The user selects a drug from the drop down menu to prescribe, then submits it. However, i need to try and validate this form with Javascript, and this is where my problem lies. Because i have echo’d out the list of all the drug id’s,name and dosage, i dont know how to then validate each variable.

<form name=“myform” action=“<?php echo $pfile;?>” method=“post” >
<input type=“hidden” name=“patientid” value=“<?php echo $patientid;?>” />

$sql    = 'SELECT * FROM `Drug` ';
    $result = mysql_query($sql);

if (mysql_num_rows($result) == 0)
        echo " -- No patients found -- ";
    else {
        echo "&lt;select name=\\"drugid\\"&gt;/n";
        echo "&lt;option value=\\"\\"&gt; &lt;/option&gt;\
";
        while ($r = mysql_fetch_array($result, MYSQL_ASSOC))
            echo "&lt;option value=\\"" . $r['ref'] . "\\"&gt;" . $r['ref'] . " : " . $r['name'] . " " . $r['dose'] . "&lt;/option&gt;\
";

echo "&lt;/select&gt;\
";
    }

I then have tried to put Java Script into my header like so:

&lt;script&gt;
	function formvalidation() {
    // Fetch email-value
  dose = document.myform.dose.value ;
    // value empty?
    if (dose == "10mg")
        {
            alert('That's a High Dosage');
            return false;
        }
   &lt;/script&gt;

My JavaScript is just being ignored. Does anyone have any idea to validate for example, if the dose being submitted is 10mg, an alert will appear? Thanks in advance

The name of your drop down is drugid, not dose.

You mean to try:

drugid = document.myform.drugid.value ;

if (dose == "2.5mg")
    {
        alert('Enter Email-Address.');
        return false;
    }

Still JS being ignored! Would you say the other code is correct? Been at this for days!