Php mailer code

Hi Friends,

I am planning to go for freelancing and I am learning to design websites by using free templates available online. I am almost done with the website and I am about to host it. The last page left is the contact page and I have no clue how to make the contact form working. With the information online, I came to know that php mailer form does resolve this issue. Following is my html code.. I request you to explain the step by step procedure to make this working, as I am a completely new beginner.

Form Code:

<h4>Send us a message!</h4>
	<div id="contact_form"  class="col_w280 float_l">
		<form method="post" name="contact" action="#">

<label for="author">Name:</label> <input type="text" id="author" name="author" class="required input_field" />
			<div class="cleaner h10"></div>
			<label for="email">Email:</label> <input type="text" id="email" name="email" class="validate-email required input_field" />
								<label for="text">Message:</label> <textarea id="text" name="text" rows="0" cols="0" class="required"></textarea>

<input type="submit" value="Send" id="submit" name="submit" class="submit_btn float_l" />
			<input type="reset" value="Reset" id="reset" name="reset" class="submit_btn float_r" />

</form>
	</div>

Please do the needful. Thanks in advance.

Hi,
You want to make a contact form using PHP and have it send (you) a mail when a visitor fills it out.
Have I understood you correctly?

Hi Pullo,

You got the point.

Okay then. I’ll show you how to make a very simple contact form and have it send you a mail.

However, before you do this, take a minute to consider some of the alternatives.
For example a quick Google search for “contact form generator” points you to a whole host of services (some free, some not), offering to do what you want.

Anyway, presuming you want to code one by hand, you’ll need a form.
Here’s one I made earlier. Name it contact.php and upload it to your server.

<!DOCTYPE HTML>
<html lang="en">
  <head>