PHP, Ruby, or Python? Help Appreciated!

I’m a front end developer who now wants to get my feet wet with a bit of back end tech. The problem I’m encountering is I can’t find an up-to-date opinion of the main 3 programming languages being used right now.

Very simply, which programming language is best to learn?

If you have any recommended books for beginners I would appreciate the insight as well! Thanks!

You will never get a definitive answer on what is best to learn. What you should be asking is given your development environment, which is most likely to help you succeed?

Other things to consider:
Are you wanting to get into TDD (Test Driven Development)? If so, my personal opinion, start with Ruby (I’ve been to several conferences were Ruby was used to quickly and effectively show the usefulness of TDD).
Are you wanting to utilize a MVC type framework? If so, my personal opinion, start with Ruby or a specific PHP framework, or .NET.

What exactly do you want to be able to do? What kind of applications?

I’m more that happy to assist you in selecting the language that may best suit you for your future need, I just need you to define what those needs are and what you are expecting to get out of learning the new language.

Here is a nice article of comparing various categories of all three:

http://www.udemy.com/blog/modern-language-wars/

My knowledge regarding back end programming is very vanilla; so the best I can do is tell you my personal ambitions…

My goal is to create an interactive website and app that syncs together using real time data. So for example, if you were outside and updated your app, your profiles statistics on the website would update as well. Membership/social storage and real time data are the two major components of the site. It will end up being a Real time Data Social Media site and app. Think of it as if Weight Watchers and Facebook had a love child…kinda, but better looking.