Php upload file not working

Hi all,

I’m a newbie here. I’ve tried to run a simple file upload. The problem is the browser keep on showing the php script when i press submit button. Anyway below are two files i’m working on

1. test.html

<html>
<body>
<form action=“upload_file.php” method=“post” enctype=multipart/form-data">
<label for=“file”> filename:</label>
<input type=“file” name=“file” id=“file”<br>
<input type=“submit” name=“submit” value=“submit”>
</form>
</body>
</html>

1. upload_file.php

<?php
if ($_FILES[“file”][“error”] > 0) {
echo "Error: " . $_FILES[“file”][“error”] . “<br>”;
} else {
echo "Upload: " . $_FILES[“file”][“name”] . “<br>”;
echo "Type: " . $_FILES[“file”][“type”] . “<br>”;
echo “Size: " . ($_FILES[“file”][“size”] / 10240) . " kB<br>”;
echo "Stored in: " . $_FILES[“file”][“tmp_name”];
}

?>

By the way, i’m using XAMPP in windows 7. Any help would be much appreciated.

Hi @marie_jane; and welcome to the forum.

There were errors in your script which I have removed.

Try this:

test.html

<!doctype html>
<html>
<head>
 <title>Test upload</title>
</head>
<body>
  <form action="upload_file.php" method="post" enctype="multipart/form-data">
    <div>
      <label for="file" filename </label>
      <input type="file" name="file" id="file" />
      <br>
     <input type="submit" name="submit" value="submit" />
  </div>    
</form>
</body>
</html>

upload_file.php

<?php
if ($_FILES["file"]["error"] > 0)
{
  echo "Error: " . $_FILES["file"]["error"] . "<br>";

} else {
  echo "Upload: " . $_FILES["file"]["name"] . "<br>";
  echo "Type: "   . $_FILES["file"]["type"] . "<br>";
  echo "Size: "   .($_FILES["file"]["size"] / 10240) . " kB<br>";
  echo "Stored: " . $_FILES["file"]["tmp_name"];

}

Hi @John_Betong,

thanks for your reply. I have tried to use your code, however the upload_file.php code is not being executed. Instead, raw php code is displayed on the browser. see below photo.