PHP what can it do? Where can i learn?

Hi I am new to php and see it is essential if I want to take web development to the next stage.

I have used Wordpress and general HTML/CSS to generate websites in the past. I notice that all wordpress themes are generated using PHP.

Where is the best place to learn PHP, essentially how to design Wordpress themes using PHP?

Thanks in advance

I don’t work for SitePoint but I’d happily endorse their books. Buy a book from them. Better than anything “for Dummies”. There’s also the PHP manual. You can also expect web searches to return many good results on almost any PHP-related topic. The search term “tutorial” is probably particularly useful to you.

Thanks for the advice, have seen their books but never seen reviews.

Just ordered Jump Start PHP as it looks exactly what I’m looking for

Thanks

Another good place to start (Learnable – owned by Sitepoint)

Then of course, if you are interested in a few articles to read

I’ll put my two cents in… :slight_smile:

It really depends what you want to do and what is your current level.

Do you have any other experience with programming? Do you know about basic programming stuff such as loops, variables, etc.?

Second, what do you know about web development and databases? Could you make a form in plain PHP (without WordPress) that saves a text entered by a user into the database?

Some other questions:

How to design Wordpress themes using PHP

What do you mean by “design”? Do you want to start from 0 or an existing PSD? Or maybe you’ll already have all the HTML/CSS somewhere?

I don’t have any experience with programming, I have looked at the code to generate wordpress themes such as the twenty twelve/thriteen/fourteen ones and can understand the basic lines of code. But this has made we want to learn PHP so I can create my own wordpress themes.

Thus far I have only created websites using HTML and CSS, but then moved onto wordpress themes and tinkering with the CSS myself.