PHPUnit Question?

Hello,

I am really new to PHP but understand things a little and after studying OOP after sometime I wanted to learn how to test my code. I have been reading the manual and searching tutorials but I cannot seem to understand how to right a simple test for something like this

class someclass {

public function somefunction($value){

return $value; 
}
}

This has to be easy but I don’t think I am getting it, how would I write a test for this.

I understand how to write the test class and extend PHPUnit frame work and do the setup and the teardown but how do I actually test this method? What I mean is how do I either pass a value to the $value to test it in my test case?

I know this is a basic example but I really do not understand the lingo on the PHPUnit manual site, any help would be awesome:)

You wouldn’t actually write a test for an empty method because there is nothing to test.

You typically test for exceptions being thrown, conditionals and return values.

I suppose in this case/your example you could pass a value to the method and ensure the value you provided was the same as the one returned and if it isn’t you know something in the code has changed and therefore a likely bug has been introduced.

Cheers,
Alex

Something like:

class InitialTests extends \\PHPUnit_Framework_TestCase
{
  public static function setUpBeforeClass()
  {
    // echo "Setup before class\
";
  }
  public function setUp()
  {
    // echo "Setup before test\
";
  }
  function test1()
  {
    $this->assertTrue(true);
  }
  function test2()
  {
    $this->assertTrue(false);
  }
  function testSomeFunction
  {
    $someClass = new someclass();
    $input = 'XXX';
    $output = $someClass->somefunction($input);
    $this->assertEquals($input,$output);
  }
}

This is what I was looking for, how to pass things to a method for testing.