Please advise Webmaster with a Ruby app

Hello,

I paid a Ruby agency over $40k to have a Ruby on Rails site developed. Now it’s done and is working fine.

The issue now is that I’m not a developer, and I can’t afford to hire one. For every single change to the site (e.g. change the header, add some analytics code, add a Twitter button) I’m getting charged a minimum of 1 hour’s work at their hourly rate which is pretty high.

I don’t mind paying the agency for new development work, but by getting billed for these tiny things I’m feeling like my hands are really tied and I can’t tweak anything.

I’m thinking of hiring a Rails developer with a good rating from say Elance.com for $25/hr, to use on an ad-hoc basis, say 1-2 hours per week for small changes here and there for a much lower cost.

• Do you think this is a practical idea?

• Would it take the developer too long to familiarize himself with the code? Or does he not need to know the full inner workings to do simple changes?

• Is there a big risk of the developer screwing up the site, or stealing the code?

Thanks a lot for any advice and input, would really appreciate it!

Adam

I’ve never used e-lance, I used to use odesk.com. The hourly rates seemed lower.
If the developer is worth is money he shouldn’t need to know the inner works for a rails framework, they should be super changes for the dev.
Stealing Code? In theory he could steal your code. When I worked free lance on odesk, I was never interested in all at stealing code. I wouldn’t worry about this much at all, especially if you go with reputable devs(odesk has a feedback / rating system).

I thinks this is a very good way to go about doing this.

Hi Bailey,

Thanks a lot for your advice. You said “he shouldn’t need to know the inner works for a rails framework, they should be super changes for the dev.”